Vrijstaat 2021

The 2021 Philatelic Federation of South Africa national exhibition was held from 21-23 October 2021 at Kopano Nokeng in Bloemfontein. It was hosted by the Orange Free State Philatelic Society in their 120th anniversary year. The exhibition comprised 48 competitive exhibits spanning 245 frames, including four literature exhibits.

Several TSC members attended and exhibited at Vrijstaat 2021. Michael Wigmore and Hugh Amoore served as jury members. Hugh Amoore is the President of Federation and Leon Jacobson was elected as Federation’s heritage custodian.

The following members exhibited:

Emil Bührman – British Bechuanaland and Stellaland; Large Gold, SA Post Office Shield for best exhibit of SA Philately.

Gawie van der Walt – Railway philately of South Africa – 1867 to 1910; Gold.

Paul van Zeyl – Bloemfontein around the turn of the century (picture postcards); Large Vermeil, SAPRG Archie Atkinson Trophy for best picture postcard exhibit of Southern Africa.

Danna Strydom – The 2nd Zuid-Afrikaansche Republic -1881-1899; Gold, STAMPCOR Award for best pre-union exhibit, The Tony Chilton Transvaal Award for best ZAR/Transvaal.

Danna Strydom -The animal series definitive stamps of the Union of South Africa; Large Vermeil, SA Stamp Study Circle Award for best SA exhibit after 1910, Potch 78 Award for best post WWII exhibit.

Leave a Reply